Ian

Posted - November 2010 in Community Members

Ian

I grew up in Enoggera Brisbane and still live in the family home which I bought from my mum 32 years ago. I have one sister Gayle. My dad died when I was 16 years old. I am married to Narelle and have two children Lisa 21 and Benjamin 17. I  was a panel beater for 13 years and then worked as a technician in Telstra for 23 years then became redundant. I am on a disability pension and my wife cares for me. I was diagnosed with HSP several years ago but did not get my blood tests back until January 2010. I alternate between walker and wheelchair. HSP not only affects my mobility but also my bowel and bladder and I suffer from back pain.

My hobbies are fishing, computers and tinkering down my shed. I used to do a lot of bicycle riding for fitness but am now limited to riding my electric recumbent trike. I love to get out on the bike track and enjoy the fresh air. I have modified the recumbent to suit my needs. I used to ride a handcycle that I made but with my back pain I can not do this any more.

I hope there will be treatment and eventually a cure one day for HSP. This disease has been in my family for at least four generations. Adult stem cell research gives us hope for the future.

Add your comment on this story